1997 is so happening.

You know the reason I am here.

Procrastinate.

Another facebook just reminded me that Titanic screened 20 years ago.

Another 20. Just how many things happened in 1997? Here is the list to remind myself how old I am already. yay it has been a long time since i did a list!

Things that happened in 1997

1) Pokemon Animated Series.
Ash started his journey to be a pokemon master with his soulmate pikachu. Anyway there is a reboot of episode one i.e. Pikachu! I choose you! on big screen. But there is no misty and Brock and they are replaced by two unknown new characters. I wonder what is Nintendo thinking.

2) One Piece
Luffy beginning yelling “I WILL BE A PIRATE KING!” on his small little boat. And Shanks lost his arm. Anyway some official Japanese anniversary-celebration-holiday committee has just announced 22 July to be One Piece Day. Is official. I love the Japanese.

3) Harry Potter
Harry received a letter from Hogwarts and had a visit from Hagrid, who told him the legendary line “You’re a Wizard, Harry” Anyway there will be two more new books this year. Which is like expanding the Harry Potter universe

4) Titantic
Yar I just discovered this. Jack told Rose “You jump, I jump” in this year. When Leonardo was still hot and not like some old uncle carrying ugly purple plastic bags around.

5) Mayday
Had their first little performance as a 小咖 with other 小咖s back then (which includes Cheer Chan) in some small little park. And the rest is history.

6) Digimon
The game (remember that small little console?) first came out. I never had one. I am not a game person. But i recalled all the boys in primary school were crazy about it. Especially my tuition friend’s little brother.

7) Princess Diana passed away
I liked Princess Diana as I kid. I thought she is very pretty. You know, our news used to update us regularly on the British royalties before updating us regularly on 習大大. And the fact that she is defiant towards the strict rules of the monarchy and being active in various causes appeals to me. So her death was quite shocking to me back then.

8) Bird Flu outbreak
I think bird flu is like a prologue to SARS. I was already in Singapore then so I wasn’t directly affected. but i recall watching the news with tons and tons of chicken being killed by men in white protective suit. It was shocking images

9)金融風暴
When the whole Asian economy just collapsed. and inspired so much tvb and mediacorp dramas.

10) The Handover
Oh yes. The beginning of the end of Hong Kong.

*New*
11) Kinki Kids
Choo just reminded me that kinki kids is 20 this year too. Well, I never bother to know who the other kid was besides 堂本剛. and 堂本 will always be the one and only 金田一. Unfortunately 堂本剛 recently went deaf (!!!) due to stress. He has a lot to prepare for the 20th anniversary performances. Well, screw you Johnny’s. For abusing your artists. And causing SMAP to disband. Anyway I dont like 木村now thanks to all the SMAP saga. He seemed like a selfish jerk who cause misery to his team mates.

*New*
12) Back Street Boys
Omg so even back street boys started in 1997?? *Cues I Want It That Way*

*New*
13) Beach Boys
Omg I loved that j-drama! I think I will feel it even more now. After all, Is about two 20+ mid-crisis dudes ditching work and spending the summer at a beach house. The ending is still stuck in my mind. It is very sad.

*New*
14)Saiyuki
ok this list is not going to end. so is saiyuki. But looking at the health conditions of the author, i wish her all the best and I will respect every single fucking line she draws. Don’t you dare criticise her, because she is the last person you should ever criticise for laziness and unprofessional work ethics. I just hope she gives more happiness  to goku, my first 2d crush, and stop making him endure all the heartbreaks and shit. He deserves better.

So yar, I am officially of the “When that happened I was….” age.

 

Leave a Reply

